Bibliographical Society

2020 Battestin Fellowship Winners

The Bibliographical Society of the University of Virginia is pleased to announce the winners of its eighth round of Battestin Fellowships.

The winners and the titles of their projects are:

  • Lucia Alden “Performing Morality: A Comparative Study of Marginalia in Early Modern Drama and The Faerie Queene”;

  • Emmalee Dove“Affective Interventions in Manuscript and Early Printed Books of Hours in the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library, c. 1240-1599”;

  • Bridget Reilly“Framing Melville:  The Physical and Critical Manifestations of Moby-Dick”;

  • Anne Marie Thompson“Modern and Contemporary Poetry among the Book Arts:  A Study of Cross-Genre Compositions.”

These fellowships are named in honor of the late Martin Battestin, a distinguished professor of English at UVa, and his widow, Ruthe, a literary scholar and honorary member of the Society’s Council. The aim of the fellowships, each worth $3,500, is to provide summer support for research in the UVa libraries by UVa graduate students who are working on bibliographical or textual projects.

The Selection Committee consisted of Michael F. Suarez (professor of English and director of Rare Book School at UVa), G. Thomas Tanselle (past president of the Bibliographical Society of UVa), and David Whitesell (curator in the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library at UVa and a member of the Society’s Council).